5 Tips For Success in Sales

I have been working at a Real Estate company for the last year, but interestingly enough, I am not a realtor. Working in the marketing department of this company has allowed me the opportunity to be an observer of sorts; I watch how agents go about dealing with clients and I look to see what cuts a deal and what breaks one. The tips and tricks I have picked up here enabled me to refer four clients who went on to buy four pre-construction condos in one year – that’s north of $1.5 million in sales. So how did I do it?

Here are the five essentials I have learned:

Know Your Product:

Whether you are selling a T-Shirt or a house, if you don’t know enough about your product, you will never be taken seriously. So, before you head out to try and make a sale, study your product carefully; know it like the back of your hand. Practice answering some questions relating to your product and make sure to take no short-cuts in researching it.

Even still, if you find yourself stumped by a question your client asks you, just be honest.

“That’s a really good question. I am not sure, but let me get back to you about that one after I have spoken to the developer.”

Here is an example of what you could say if the situation arose where you don’t have an answer. Do not try and hand wave or make up something silly because you will lose your credibility.  People understand well enough that all humans are not perfect and they will appreciate your honesty. Just make sure that you honor your commitment in getting back to your client regarding the question asked.

Be Sincere:

It’s not always possible, but try to sell a product that you would be happy to buy yourself. Maybe this is the reason why I was able to sell four condos; I was never considered the stereotypical sales person since I was not a realtor, but only someone who referred clients to my company. When I spoke about projects, it was because I believed in them and I wanted to invest in them myself. One of my friends who went on to purchase a condo after I had spoken to him about it said,

“You sold it to me in five minutes.”

All I did was discuss the project with him over the phone and tell him why I believed in it; sincerity has a sneaky way of shining through and unfortunately, so does hunger in making a sale. What I have learned though is that if you have a good product and if you truly believe in it, it will sell itself.

Be Organized:

If you have a client on the edge and you delay a meeting, it could be the difference between making a sale and losing a client. Always ensure that you keep detailed notes about your clients and make sure to honor any commitment you have made. If you are meant to meet a client at the site at 5:00 PM, be there at 4:45 PM and ensure that you deliver on everything that is promised. This is essential in building trust and ensuring that the client remains your client for life.

Know Your Client:

There is a reason why people with a higher emotional intelligence outperform those with a high IQ. When you are truly able to understand a person, it is only then that you can present them with a product that they will like – common sense! Anticipate needs and take time to understand what your client really wants. This is a surefire way of making a sale.

Take Your Client Out For a Meal:

This last tip is perhaps the most valuable one I learned in my time working for realtors. It may come across as surprising to some, but you have no idea of the sort of things you can learn by taking your client out for dinner. Under the more relaxed setting of a restaurant, you will be able to put all of the above four points to use and if you are thorough and have done your homework, you will have a sale by the end of the meal.

Spending some money on taking a client out someplace nice will always prove to be a worthy investment. If you are knowledgeable about your product and you are sincere, there is absolutely no reason why the client will not buy from you or at the very least, will not refer other clients to you.

So that’s it, five really simple tricks to bettering yourself as a salesperson. Let me know in the comments section if you have others to add – I would love to hear your opinion.

One thought on “5 Tips For Success in Sales

Leave a Reply

